Dave Brubeck Sacred Choral Works: Songs of Praise

Dave Brubeck Sacred Choral Works: Songs of Praise


Artist: The Pacific Mozart Ensemble, Lynne Morrow (conductor), Richard Grant (conductor), Jeremy Cohen (violin), Alisa Rose (violin), Keith Lawrence (viola), Michelle Djokic (cello), Kymry Esainko (piano)

Composer: Dave Brubeck

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Dave Brubeck is one of the most well-known jazz pianists of all time. Mr. Brubeck is also a fluent, developed musician, exploring new avenues in composition and performance including his many choral compositions. Lauded around the world, Mr. Brubeck just received the prestigious Kennedy Center Honor in December 2009. This album, featuring premiere recordings of the Sacred Choral music (less "Sleep Holy Infant, Sleep") of Mr. Brubeck, performed by the GRAMMY nominated group The Pacific Mozart Ensemble for whom some of the pieces were written and Mr. Brubeck has worked closely with. The album also features the Multi-GRAMMY nominated ensemble Quartet San Francisco who most recently has received 2 nominatioins for the 52nd Annual GRAMMY awards.

Track List

1. Ave Maria (Annunciation)
2. Concordi Laetitia (Nativity)
3. Salve Mater (Crucifixion)
4. Ev'ry Christmas I Hear Bells
5. Sleep, Holy Infant, Sleep
6. Why We Sing at Christmas
7. Precious Gift His Wondrous Birth
8. The Commandments
9. Psalm 23
10. Credo
11. Benediction

Total time: 58:33
Release date: January 2011
UPC: 053479210128

Yes, you read that correctly. This is a choral CD, with music written by famous jazzer Dave Brubeck...enjoyable works...
— Anna Reguero, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle

More from Sono Luminus