One Morning

One Morning


Artists: Ronn McFarlane, Ayreheart

Composer: Ronn McFarlane

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

A new day dawns with GRAMMY-nominated lutenist Ronn McFarlane’s new album One Morning. The follow-up release to his wildly popular original music album Indigo Road (DSL-90701), Ronn continues to show the world that the lute is a living instrument suited for more than just classical performances by past composers, but is ready to introduce new music into the world. Joined by his new group Ayreheart, this album further explores the world of the composer/performer. 

One of the outstanding lutenists performing today, Ronn McFarlane is largely responsible for bringing the transcendent charm and timeless quality of the lute into the musical mainstream and making it accessible to a larger audience. Ronn has recorded numerous albums with Sono Luminus, performing lute works of the master composers of the past including Dowland and Bach—and now, this master performer continues to enrich the world with this new album, bringing his exciting blend of classical, renaissance, folk, and pop music to the masses. 

Joined by an amazing new group, Ayreheart, this album includes ute, harp, bass, percussion, and vocals, as well as backing by string and choral ensembles. The songs with vocals truly harken to the days of Dowland, with Ronn functioning as the composer, lutenist, and lyricist. 

Having been nominated for a GRAMMY award for Indigo Road in the category of Best Classical Crossover album, Ronn continues to blur the lines between genres, creating a musical experience for all music lovers to enjoy. The lyrics to the title track describe it best: “One morning, one morning in the sunshine you’ll arise, realize it’s a new day. Eyes awaken, dawn is breaking. One morning, one morning in the sunlight breathe the air, everywhere, in the morning light. It’s a new day.”

Track List

1. One Morning
2. Borderland
3. Snapdragon
4. A Day in November
5. Wolf Summit
6. Union Bridge
7. Bad Hair Day
8. Dakota Days
9. Before the Wind
10. Man of Arms
11. Nocturne

On the Heath
12. Thistle
13. Honeysuckle
14. Haeddre

15. Sings in her Sleep
16. Lullaby for Anne
17. One Morning (full band version)

Total time: 63:00
Release date: May 25, 2010
UPC: 053479211125

The music here, in fact, is pleasingly impossible to categorize.
— James Manheim, All Music Guide

More from Sono Luminus