Blame Not My Lute

Blame Not My Lute


Artists: Ronn McFarlane (lute), Robert Aubry Davis (spoken word)

Composers: Thomas Wyatt, John Dowland, Thomas Campion, Robert Herrick, William Byrd

Poets: William Shakespeare, Thomas Heywood, Samuel Daniel, Richard Barn eld, Thomas D’Urey, Sir John Davies

Format: 1 CD


Add To Cart

Sono Luminus is very proud to announce Blame Not My Lute, the latest release from GRAMMY-nominated lutenist Ronn McFarlane, accompanied in voice by internationally known television and radio personality Robert Aubry Davis. 

McFarlane and Davis artfully match poetry and theater works about the lute to the nest lute music taken from the same Elizabethan and Jacobean era. Originally presented as a live performance, Blame Not My Lute is a masterful mix of lilting verse by writers such as Shakespeare and Sir Thomas Wyatt as well as enchanting lute music from the likes of John Dowland, and is the first recording of its kind. 

One of the most outstanding lutenists performing today, Ronn McFarlane is largely responsible for bringing the transcendent charm and timeless quality of the lute into the musical mainstream and making it accessible to a larger audience with his GRAMMY® nominated album “Indigo Road” which featured new lute compositions by Mr. McFarlane which prompted the The Washington Times to write that Ronn McFarlane’s music is “...some of the most ravishing lute playing to be heard anywhere”. McFarlane, a graduate of Shenandoah Conservatory and Peabody Conservatory, turned his full attention and energy to the lute in 1978. The following year, Ronn performed his first solo on the lute and became a member of the Baltimore Consort. Since that time, he has toured extensively throughout the United States, Canada and Europe with the Baltimore Consort and as a soloist. He has produced over 20 recordings. 

Robert Aubry Davis produces and hosts Millennium of Music, heard on public radio stations nationwide. In addition to this weekly show, Davis also produces radio specials including On Holiday, a series of five one-hour programs that explore the music and culture of different European nations. Davis is a frequent lecturer and commentator for arts institutions throughout Washington D.C. and hosts the weekly arts discussion program Around Town for WETA TV in the nation’s capital. He is a contributing writer to newspapers, journals and cultural publications both nationally and internationally. 

Track List

1. Bonny Sweet Boy
2. Blame Not My Lute
3. My Lady Hundson's Puffe
4. Melancholy Galliard
5. Kemp's Jig
6. Packington's Pound
7. A Woman Killed with Kindness
8. Lachrimae
9. The Taming of the Shrew, Act II: Scene i
10. Mrs. Winter's Jump
11. Go From My Window
12. When to Her Lute Corinna Sings
13. Lord Willoughby's Welcome Home
14. Upon Julia's Voice
15. Pavana Bray
16. Piper's Galliard
17. Peg-a-ramsey/Robin Reddock
18. The Two Gentlemen of Verona, Act III: Scene ii
19. A Fancy
20. Fortune My Foe
21. Queen Elizabeth's Galliard
22. Tarleton's Resurrection

Total time: 50:36
Release date: February 2010
UPC: 053479210524

...cleverly programmed.
— Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb International

More from Sono Luminus